Good Time (Review & Commentary)

Eighty6Prime (Nicholas)
3 min readMar 5, 2020

Transcribed directly from an audio recording

I’ve been thinking lots lately about the great quality of films we are getting on streaming platforms and in the cinema. It now comes down to choosing which films I’m going to view at home and which films I’m going to view at the cinema. Naturally, there are certain films that I absolutely must-see at the cinema. The Mission: Impossible franchise of films, summer blockbusters, franchise films in general, and of course, films designed specifically for IMAX or large formats. But with this said, there are films that are perfect for home viewing. Films like Uncut Gems that I reviewed a couple of weeks ago.

The other night, I was perusing through Netflix and came across Good Time starring Robert Pattinson, which is also written and directed by the Safdie brothers. The same team of brothers that brought us Uncut Gems. I can’t say much about this film without giving the plot away, etc. but I will say this; just like Uncut Gems, I enjoyed this film thoroughly. It has a completely unique feel to it, similar to Uncut Gems. The Safdie brothers have carved out a particular niche for themselves and this film is the embodiment of their efforts and style. It’s directed and acted well. It feels visceral, surprising, and keeps you on the edge of your seat for its runtime. Everything about this film feels natural. The acting is topnotch and Robert Pattinson provides the ultimate performance. This is a solid thriller that keeps you awake and vigilant throughout its nearly two-hour runtime. I was also pleasantly surprised to realize that the supporting character, the brother of Robert Pattinson’s character, is the director and writer himself, Benny Safdie. He provides a phenomenal performance and is the standout in this film alongside Robert Pattinson. It’s hard to provide you with any criticism of this film aside from a few minor continuity flubs. This is a perfect example of a film to watch at home. I’m glad that as viewers, we are able to get the best of both worlds. I highly recommend Good Time, if you haven’t seen it already.

As a final note, as many of you know, I’m a huge Batman fan and I cannot wait to see Matt Reeves’ interpretation in 2021. Ever since the announcement of Robert Pattinson as Batman, I’ve been keenly checking out his recent work and auditing my views on his casting. Given what I’ve seen recently, including this film, I fully and unequivocally support him in the role, which I’ve mentioned before. There’s even a rumour that Robert Pattinson was cast as Batman because Matt Reeves saw his performance in this film, which is no surprise. My adoration for Matt Reeves and Robert Pattinson continues to grow. Over the past few weeks, we’ve seen some design elements from the new upcoming film like the Batmobile and Batsuit and I can say that I’m definitely on board.

--

--

Eighty6Prime (Nicholas)
0 Followers

Collector, Cinephile, and Pop Culture Historian